Posted by: Jill Potts Jones | October 20, 2016

Great topic, could have been better


unionThe Bible’s main theme is knowing God and the goal is to bring us into a union with Christ.  At times, we feel stuck and believe our goal is impossible.  Rankin Wilbourne’s “Union With Christ” offers answers to life’s basic questions:

         Who am I?                          Why am I here?
Where am I headed?       How will I get there?

Wilbourne sets out to show lay people how to know and enjoy God.  Instead of walking through life satisfied with just salvation, Wilbourne discusses how to experience a fulfilling and joy-filled life with God in union with Christ.

While the first section, “Union With Christ: What Is It and Why Do I Need It?” is informative and interesting, I found sections 2-4 tedious.  I was not impressed by the many quotes from various theologians, pastors and authors.  I felt there were more quotes from others rather than the author’s own words and experiences.

“A Prayer for Union With Christ” in the Afterword was encouraging and the best part of the book.  “Union With Christ” is a great book for a new Christian to get started in their walk with God.

Click here to purchase from Amazon.com

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group, as part of their Book Review Blogger Program.  The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

