Posted by: Jill Potts Jones | August 28, 2014

Permission to be ‘Not Perfect’


perfectEven the word “Perfect” sounds like fingernails on a chalkboard.  Who would have thought that something so easy could be so difficult when we strive for perfection?  How many times have I just given up because I can’t do something perfectly?  

My life hasn’t been perfect since, well, never.  Once I had goals to be perfect–the perfect student, the perfect daughter, the perfect wife, the perfect mother, the perfect employee.  But the best laid plans are always spoiled by the unexpected–a divorce, a bad parenting decision, a missed opportunity.

Women are the worst about overcommitting.  We learn to multitask.  We learn the word “yes”.  But we never learn to say “no”. Then we cry. We complain. We get anxious, depressed, frustrated.  

Kathy Lipp and Cheri Gregory have made an awesome discovery–Brave Living.  In their book, “The Cure for the Perfect Life”, they have found a loophole in the laws of perfection–it’s rebellion.  It’s time for women everywhere to rebel.  

I gave up on perfection a long time ago. I used to live on the “when this…then that…” philosophy.  When I get a better job, then….  When I find a man of husband material, then…. When I get a bigger house, then….And God is laughing because He knows He didn’t create us to be perfect.  He doesn’t want perfection.  He wants relationship.  He doesn’t want us to be fulfilled by worldly things.  He wants us to find our fulfillment in Him and everything He has to offer.

While I still want to be a working outside the home stay-at-home mom (bring home the bacon while doing all those things stay-at-home moms do), I know that God has put me exactly where He wants me and He doesn’t expect perfection.

“The Cure for the Perfect Life” is the best resource for women who try too hard to be perfect.  It is a guidebook for rebelling against the culture of perfection and living brave by giving up the idea that perfection is the end all be all to life.

If you are striving for perfection and tired of failure, this is the book for you.  If, however, you are perfect, please write a book letting us know how you do it.  Oh, and by the way, when you buy this book, purchase a bold pink highlighter–you’ll be using it a lot.

Click here to purchase from Amazon.com

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free as part of the Braver Living Rebellion blogging tour.   I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

