Posted by: Jill Potts Jones | May 6, 2013

Couponing questions answered and then some…


CouponingThere are lots of books about couponing and even a television show.  You’ve heard the stories.  You’ve seen the pictures on Facebook of purchases and savings.  There are couponing classes.  Quite frankly, I don’t have the time or money for a class or a bunch of books especially when there’s tons of free information available online if you know where to look.

I, for one, don’t have time to clip coupons, scour sales flyers and plan accordingly.  I barely have time to make a complete grocery list, and, to be honest, my time is worth more than my money these days.  I suppose because I have more time than money.  Yes, I want to save money, and quite frequently I do by using coupons for products I would buy anyway and trying to plan accordingly when there is a sale.  I may be foolish, and maybe someday I will put forth the effort to coupon.

Kasey Knight Trenum believes in responsible couponing.  She doesn’t advocate the extremes some go to in order to save money though she does stockpile certain items.  In her book, “Couponing For the Rest of Us,” Trenum suggests ways to find and use coupons and save money.  You may not find much difference in Trenum’s book and others available; however, she does respect your time and shows you how to use it wisely and still save money couponing.  She shows you the benefits of stockpiling items that you will use not just purchase because of the money you save.  She explains why some of the excuses you might use for not clipping coupons do not apply and helps you master the art of saving money not just coupons.

Clipping coupons for Trenum is more about being a good steward of her finances than anything else.  She wants to be able to wisely handle her money as well as be generous to those in need.  By couponing and watching for sales, she is able to do both.

Click here to order from Amazon.com.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Books, as part of their Book Review Blogger Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Responses

  1. […] Couponing questions answered and then some… […]

  2. I have always been one to use coupons when shopping, but in doing so there has always been someone at the store that had a loaded cart and lots of coupons and then walked away after paying very little for all their goodies. When I heard about this book I had to see for myself if it could give me the tips I needed to become a coupon expert. The book is worth buying if you want to save money at the store.

  3. What a relief! Someone who shows people how to use coupons like a normal person, not someone on a TV show! Kasey did a great job of explaining a realistic approach to couponing and how to break it down into a way that works for real people. If you’re looking to save money without looking like a crazy person or talking five-hour-long shopping trips to stock pile random crap you won’t ever use THIS is the book for you! Excellent.


Leave a Reply

Categories

