Posted by: Jill Potts Jones | November 6, 2012

A prayer for election day 2012


To my Father in Heaven,

Thank you for this country and the freedoms we hold dear.  Thank you for giving strength, perseverance and courage to those who fought for my right to vote for the candidate of my choice.  Thank you for my right to endorse the candidate of my choice without fear of torture and/or death.  Thank you for the freedom of speech to complain when my rights are being revoked one by one.

It’s been said over and over and over again, but this is a pivotal election in the United States.  Today we will choose either to continue on the current path of spending more than we make, being taxed beyond what we can bear and being forced into a bail-out economy or we will choose to make a change and see where that leads us.   It’s difficult to know who is right and who is wrong.  We’ve been told to choose based on our biblical beliefs, but isn’t choosing the lesser of two evils still evil?

Americans have a difficult choice to make.  Some are not only choosing between two presidential candidates, they are also choosing their friends.  Many of us are losing friends over this election.  Some are tearing away from family members.  All because of their political choices.

Father, you have called us to love, unrestrained and unconditionally, others who don’t share our faith, politics or moral values.  Even though they taunt us, berate us, and even hate us,  You have called us to a different walk.  I’m praying for myself and my friends/family that whether our candidate wins or loses, we will hold our tongue and keep our computer keyboards silent.  We will not gloat over a win or despair over a loss, and we will certainly not harass others or treat them with disrespect.

Watch my words and actions today and stop me if I am not exhibiting Christ-like behavior.  Help me be a candle in the darkness rather than fireworks in the sky.  I want to be a light to lead others to you especially during a political firestorm.

Responses

  1. I’m sad that you put what I highlighted in RED. Is Romney really evil?

  2. Daphene, I’m not calling Romney evil but some people I know are saying they are voting for Romney because he is the lesser of two evils. I wanted to point out that if they feel that way, it doesn’t make Romney any better. However, I probably didn’t state it correctly. I appreciate you reading and commenting. Jill


Leave a Reply

Categories

