Posted by: Jill Potts Jones | April 27, 2012

Do we really know the identity of the disciple who Jesus loved?


I received “The Disciple Whom Jesus Loved” by J. Phillips to review from BookCrash.  I’m not sure what I expected but certainly not an exposition on the “real” identity of the disciple whom Jesus loved.   First of all, he doesn’t believe that the disciple John is the author of the book of John nor does he believe he was known as “the disciple whom Jesus loved”.  He properly places authority in the Bible and believes that because the Bible never says that John wrote this gospel we should look further into the Scriptures to find the answers.

Phillips also believes that Lazarus wrote the gospel of John as well as holding the title of  the beloved disciple; however, the Scriptures, although he makes a good argument to support his theory, never names Lazarus as the author just as it doesn’t name John.

By reading this book, I did gain some insight into the beloved disciple and discovered some very interesting facts I had not seen in previous readings of the gospels, but I’m not sure I’m entirely convinced that it was Lazarus and not John.

No one seems to know who the author is and you won’t find a bio in the book or on the website.  You can download a free copy of the e-book by clicking here.  Read it for yourself and let me know your verdict.  Amazon.com is selling the book for $2.99.  Click here to order.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from BookCrash, as part of their Book Review Blogger Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

