Posted by: Jill Potts Jones | March 22, 2012

Mixed feelings about Peretti’s ‘Illusion’


Dane and Mandy Collins were magicians set to retire in Mandy’s hometown in Idaho.  Having recently purchased a ranch, they were on their way to start their new life when they had a terrible accident landing Dane in the hospital and Mandy waking up in the present at the age of 19 believing she was back in 1970.

A mix of romance, science fiction and suspense, “Illusion” seems to have an identity crisis.  It has a rocky start, a slow-moving middle and an action-packed ending which may make it worth reading for some.   Although the characters and plot are intriguing, I felt like I had started the book in the middle and was trying to catch up.   Slow and complicated, Peretti spent too much time on Mandy’s magic acts and not enough time explaining what I was supposed to see in the scene.  By the time I got to the climax, I didn’t really care how the book ended.

If you are expecting the Peretti who wrote “This Present Darkness”, you won’t find him in “Illusion”.  The spiritual themes are there but are easy to miss if you are trying to understand the plot.  If you want to read it, I would suggest checking your local library for this one.

Click here to purchase from Amazon.com.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Howard Books, a division of Simon and Schuster, as part of their Book Review Blogger Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

