Posted by: Jill Potts Jones | February 16, 2012

‘The Darlington Society’


If you are a friend of mine on Facebook, you know how much I love to read and you should also know that one of my favorite authors is Mike Dellosso.  Mike’s creativity and imagination can only be described as unique, fascinating and, at times, creepy (but in a good way 🙂 ).  When he was preparing to market his newest book, “Frantic”, he gathered a group of book reviewers and bloggers and created “The Darlington Society” whose purpose it was to pray,support and encourage and ultimately, market the book using their blogs and social networks and any other means reasonably possible.

I was honored to be chosen as a charter member along with 24 others to help Mike reach new heights with his new endeavors because, believe me, there’s more to come.  

“The Darlington Society” has been a blessing to me in so many ways.  I have made new friends with whom I have something in common.  I have been able to pray for and support an author who not only writes books I love to read but also has become a friend in the process.  (And all because I won a book by commenting on someone else’s blog.)

Now that “Frantic” has been released, I have reflected on whether or not “The Darlington Society” actually did what Mike had hoped that it would.  I’m hoping he will say yes because I believe it’s been a great addition to the publishing process.  I feel completely invested in this book.  More than any other book I’ve reviewed, I want it to sell and sell and sell.  Why?  Because I spent time praying for Mike and the book’s success.  I conversed with other bloggers who all, like me, were working towards a great debut for “Frantic” and success for Mike.  I made friends.  I am also looking forward to the other books I know are coming.

Thank you, Mike, for choosing all of us to help encourage and support you through this process. I am excited for the success you will achieve with this book, and I know the other characters who are living in your head are dying to get out and I can’t wait.

Responses

  1. Jill, I choked up reading this. Thank you! Thank you for your consistent support and encouragement and prayers I know are there. I can feel them. The Darlington Society has been one of the best decisions I’ve ever made in my writing endeavors. Yes, you have made an impact. The numbers aren’t out yet and won’t be for some time but the feeling around this release, not just for me but for others as well, has been different than for my other books. I sense the investment you and others have in it and your loyalty and support do not go unnoticed. I appreicate you and everyone in TDS and count all of you as so much more than readers, more than friends . . . brothers and sisters in Christ. Can’t get any better than that 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

