Posted by: Jill Potts Jones | June 11, 2010

Struggling to maintain balance and sanity


One of my goals for the month of June was to get my house clean and, in particular, my dining room table cleared off so that we could eat together as a family.  Another goal is to keep the house clean and stay on top of tasks.  It’s been two weeks and so far so good.  The dining room table is clear, the dishes are done every night before bedtime and the house is in a reasonable semblance of order.

The difficulty lies in the amount of work it takes to keep it that way.  With a husband, a teenager and a preschooler, as well as a full-time job, it is hard to keep my house clean and orderly, put dinner on the table, do a number of other necessary tasks and be able to relax after a long day at work.   

Having done this many times before and always getting  frustrated after a couple of months (or sooner), I am determined that this time I will overcome the obstacles and be successful.  I have devoured just about every book on organization and joined groups on Facebook and signed up for email subscriptions on websites.  I have heard all the tips and incorporated some into my household management.  

The problem is maintaining balance–keeping my house clean and orderly and being able to relax and do some of the things I want to do.  When I come home from work, I find a teenager in her room, listening to music and playing on the computer.  My husband is playing a game on his computer and asking what do you have in mind for dinner?  My preschooler is absolutely starving and is wanting to play on her computer.  That leaves me cooking dinner, straightening up the house, doing dishes and making sure baths are taken and getting everything ready for bedtime.  By this time, exhaustion sets in and there is no time for me. 

Weekends are no better.  There are groceries to be bought, laundry to be done, bathrooms to clean, linens to change and wash.  It’s a never-ending cycle.  My goal over the summer is to find a perfect balance, enlist the people who live in my house to help and to enjoy my family.

After all, I’m tired of hearing what’s for dinner?  When are you going grocery shopping?  When are you doing laundry?  When are you going to clean my room?  I would really enjoy hearing can I help you with that?  What do you want me to do?  And the best thing of all to hear, I’ll do everything this weekend while you do some scrapbooking.  (And then, of course, I’ll wake up from that dream).

Leave a Reply

Categories

