Posted by: Jill Potts Jones | April 6, 2010

If I only had a brain…


I’ve been thinking a lot lately about what I would do if only I had more time, more energy and more money.  “The Wizard of Oz”  was one of my favorite movies when I was growing up and I started reflecting on what I would ask for–a heart, a brain, courage, or a home? 

I need a heart that sees beyond myself and into the hurts, hopes and needs of others.  I want a heart that aches with someone who is suffering from cancer or dealing with an addiction.  I want a heart that rejoices at the victories of those who have been struggling with debt and has finally pushed through the ceiling or who have been sick and are miraculously healed.  I want a heart that is moved to do something to help.

I need a brain that is open to new ideas and willing to listen to the beliefs of others without judgment.  I don’t necessarily have to agree or follow, but I want the capacity to hear people out instead of judging them by what they believe.  I need a brain that allows me to process what people say they believe and explain to them why I believe the way that I do.

I need courage to share the love of Christ with those who are opposed to Christianity and Christ and God.  It’s easy to share your faith with those who already believe, but it’s difficult to share it with those who are resistant and argumentative.  I need courage to follow Christ wherever He desires to take me and to go when He desires to take me.  

I need a home I can go to when my energy is sapped, when my love light is dimmed, when fear sets in and when it feels like others hate me.  I need a home where I am accepted for who I am not just for what I do.  I need a home where I am loved not just because I’m the wife or the mother and I don’t want to just be tolerated because I happen to live there.

Oz was just an imaginary place with a horse of a different color and the wizard was just a man behind a curtain.  But my Father in Heaven knows what I need and has provided for me I only need to ask with the right motives.  James 4:2b-3 says, “You do not have, because you do not ask God.  When you ask, you do not receive, because you ask with wrong motives, that you may spend what you get on your pleasures.”

What do you want that God has not given you?  Humble yourself and ask in obedience.  Are you struggling between your desires and God’s desires?  Be still and seek God.  Be willing to open your heart, your mind and your home to His will.

Responses

  1. Love this post! God even uses The Wizard of Oz to teach us! Thanks so much for sharing it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

