Posted by: Jill Potts Jones | March 8, 2010

Phil Vischer’s new DVD series teaches biblical truth


 

GIVEAWAY–(see end of review for entry instructions) Two winners will be chosen.

Veggietales’ creator Phil Vischer has stepped away from cucumbers and tomatoes to bring a new dimension to children’s shows by introducing them to the most owned but least read book ever written, the Bible.  Meant to teach children the stories and theme of God’s Word, “What’s in the Bible?” DVD series contains questions such as “what’s in the Bible?” and “who wrote the Bible?”  Using characters named Buck Denver, Sunday School Lady, Brother Louie and many others, Bible stories come to life the way children best understand them.

 If you watch these videos thinking you are going to see something similar to the Veggietales, you will be disappointed.  Your children will, however, learn about the truth of the Bible and hear catchy songs.  I was surprised to find my daughter fascinated by these videos, so I know he did something right.  I can’t wait to see other videos in the series.  I am hoping these videos can do what many have tried and failed to do–keep our children interested in reading and learning more about what the Bible says and applying its truth to their lives. 

 I don’t think you will go wrong by purchasing these DVDs.  Be sure to watch the video trailer at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G-Mnq_sqMus.  For additional information, go to www.whatsinthebible.com or www.tyndale.com

Click  Here for some coloring pages for your children to enjoy.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers as part of their blogger review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

To enter giveway:  Please comment below. Be sure to include your email address or Twitter Name.   Winners will be chosen using Random.org.  Contest closes on Friday, March 12, 2010 at 5 p.m.  (Central Time).  (One winner will win DVD 1 and one winner will win DVD 2).

Responses

  1. nice info..thanks for share… bookmark this page.. ^_^

  2. Count me in!

  3. Hi Jill,
    I just went to the bookstore today perusing the children’s resource isle. Since my children are grown, I’m far removed from all things “children.” But…I’m a grandma now, and I desperately want to sow into my granddaughter’s life.

    So thanks so much for checking it out for me so I’ll have a clue what I should buy! 🙂

  4. Thanks for sharing! I am always looking for new ways to get God’s Word into the hearts and minds of my 2 young ones. So definitely count me in! Thanks.

  5. Jill,
    Thank you for sharing your blog with me. I am constantly looking for new materials for the children at the day care and being a faith based center it is hard to find videos that promote 100% Christian values. Thank you again.

  6. Its always great to find creative ways to teach our little ones about the Word of God.Thanks for the giveaway

  7. I watched a couple of preview screeners with some kids from church. I am wondering what age level these were designed for. It was too much for the younger kids. The older kids were disappointed because they were thinking veggie tales. They did say that if they “had to learn this stuff” this method was better than most but felt a little talked down to because of the puppets. You know how kids of a certain age have to reject anything they see childish until they mature a little and get comfortable with themselves and then can see the quality. Thats kind of what I faced.

  8. Wish these were out at least 10 years ago. Hope many will believe b/c of this instruction.


Leave a Reply

Categories

