Posted by: Jill Potts Jones | February 10, 2010

What You Can Learn From Pastors


God woke me up in the middle of the night with a “revelation”.  I was thinking about all the pastors I’ve know throughout my lifetime.  Some have pastored the church where I was a member and others are those whom I have met while serving various organizations.  Some have had a more profound effect on my life than others, but they have all contributed to who I am as a Christian woman.

God’s humor–Once upon a time there was a small town church who was assigned a pastor who was four years shy of retirement (for those of you who don’t get my drift, this means he was aging gracefully (“old”)).  The members, though an aging population themselves, felt like they should have a young(er) pastor so they treated him so badly he decided to retire early rather than take the abuse.  The next pastor was a young(er) pastor.  On his second Sunday after his first full week of serving the congregation, he walks into the “young” adult Sunday School Class (30s and 40s), sits down, and says, “I am so tired of visiting old people.”  In case the irony of this situation is subtle, I’ll explain that the congregation traded a pastor they didn’t like because he was old for a pastor who was young and didn’t like old people.  And everyone lived happily ever after.

As I ponder this story, it occurs to me that God sends us people we need.  That church needed both of those pastors to show them their heart.   I started looking back at pastors I’ve known.  Whether I liked them or not, they contributed to my walk with God in some way.  They led me past the wide road and into the narrow path that leads into the Kingdom of God. 

Think about pastors you’ve loved, disliked, and/or tolerated.  Whether you realize it or not, they gave you a picture of God or a picture of yourself.  These pictures, if looked at honestly, should change you.  God never sends someone into your life by accident.  The next time you become critical of your church leaders remember that it is God who brought them there.  Why do we criticize the pastors God has sent to serve?

Responses

  1. God “Speaks” to me in dreams too! Once I woke up wide awake, saw a beautiful butterfly and heard the the words KNOW ME. Another time, in a dream, I saw Jesus lead me through a group of women. He was holding my hand, telling me which way to go. Some people may think I’m nuts, some may think I’m telling a lie. I don’t care. What matters is what GOD thinks and KNOWS. He’s my Father and my life.

    • Thank you for reading and commenting on my blog. I wrote one a couple of weeks ago “How a Dream can change your life”–you may want to read that one too. Thanks. Jill

  2. A verse (my favorite) in Isaiah chapter 30, I think verse 11, says that we will hear a voice that tells us to turn to the left or turn to the right. It’s defined as the Holy Spirt guiding us through our lives. I just find it so awesome that if we open up, God will actually speak to us and tell us His plan for our lives.

    http://www.cip31.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

