Posted by: Jill Potts Jones | January 5, 2010

Worshipping God on His Mountain


I have read the story of Moses and the Burning Bush many times.  It is a story that mesmerizes and awes us as children, but after awhile we tend to accept it and move on.  This morning as I was reading the familiar story from Exodus 3 I stumbled upon two verses that caused me to marvel over the awesomeness of God.  

Now Moses was tending the flock of Jethro his father-in-law, the priest of Midian, and he led the flock to the far side of the desert and came to Horeb, the mountain of God. (Ex. 3:1)

And God said, “I will be with you. And this will be the sign to you that it is I who have sent you: When you have brought the people out of Egypt, you will worship God on this mountain.” (Ex. 3:12)

First, I found it interesting that God called Horeb, the mountain of God (His mountain).  God, in His incredible plan, took Moses from the land of Egypt where he was treated as a prince living in luxury to a place in the wilderness where ultimately Moses would hear His voice out of a burning bush.  God brought him out of his familiar surroundings so he could hear Him.  Many times God has taken me out of the familiar and placed me in an unfamiliar and uncomfortable place where He knew I could hear Him. 

And then God tells Moses the proof won’t come until after he has led the Israelites out of Egypt.  How often do we ask for proof before we will do something we feel God is leading us to do? 

Something else struck me while reading this verse this morning.  As I often do, I read the Bible with the circumstances of my life in my mind.  I had already paused on Horeb being called the mountain of God.  According to Easton’s Bible Dictionary, “Horeb” means desert or mountain of the dried-up ground.  It seems like a lot of things in my life, including spiritually and financially, have been dried up.  My faith falters when I feel like God has promised me something and it doesn’t happen right away.  My confidence grows dim when I start doubting all of the things I’m sure I heard God say.

But today, I heard God say when He leads me out of my desert and into the land of promise, I will know it was Him because I will return to His mountain in victory where I will worship and serve Him.  I am waiting with anticipation when I can worship on that mountain because I know what happened to Moses on his return to that mountain.

I am anticipating all of the things God will do in 2010, are you?

Responses

  1. Those mountaintops can be wonderful places of intimacy with God for prayer, celebration and solitude. The key for all of us is to remember that He is with us on the journey between each mountaintop!

    Wonderful, thoughtful post Jill. Best wishes to you for the New Year


Leave a Reply

Categories

