Posted by: Jill Potts Jones | January 5, 2010

2009–The Year of Lost Things and the Lesson It Brings


The last decade may not have had a name, but the last year (at least for me) was the year of lost things.  The first thing to go was my daughter’s beloved Monk Monk, the lovie we took everywhere and who did everything with us and became an important part of our family.  He was so important that when we left him behind on a trip to Florida we had to turn around and go back to get him after we were half-way there.  (We did find someone to meet us half-way, thank goodness).  We are still grieving the loss of this precious member of our family.  My daughter doesn’t go to sleep as readily as she used to and still wishes for Monk Monk.  We have a replacement but he is NOT the same no matter how hard we tried and I can understand–he really isn’t especially since he hasn’t gone through the abuse.

The next item to lose was my camera I allowed my oldest daughter to take to a concert.  Of course, she and my husband blame each other.  The camera wasn’t so bad, but the pictures of the “best birthday my daughter ever had” were on the camera card left in the camera.  Being a scrapbooker, this is really heartbreaking.  

I had to go back to work during 2009 and so I lost my freedom, but I gained income which in this time of economic hardship is definitely a blessing.  Because of the economy, I couldn’t be picky about the job; however, God, in His awesomeness, provided a job that continually blesses me.

In God’s way, He caused me to realize the things we hold onto in this life are fleeting.  In 2009, we also lost four family members which taught me that no matter how tightly we grip our things there will come a day when we have to let go, and on that day those things will not matter.  We will look around at the people with whom we created relationships and realize that was what made sense in this life.  People are important and should never be taken for granted.  Invest yourself in the lives of someone else and have something you can take with you when you die.

God uses seemingly unimportant events as well as important life-changing ones to show us what is essential.  Don’t let a God lesson pass you by.

Leave a Reply

Categories

