Posted by: Jill Potts Jones | December 28, 2009

Review of Thomas Nelson’s “Greatest Stories of the Bible


When I chose this book to review, I thought it was a paraphrased version of familiar Bible stories with children in mind.  However, I discovered that each story which includes familiar and not-so-familiar Bible stories from Genesis to Revelation are from the New King James Version with no paraphrasing.  If you are looking for a new family devotional for 2010 and beyond, you will definitely want to pick up Thomas Nelson’s The Greatest Stories of the Bible.  The stories are divided into chapters in a storybook format making it easy for all ages to read. 

 Each of the 250 Bible stories can enhance your family and personal devotions and will be a book your family will treasure.  It is sure to become an instant heirloom to pass along to your children and grandchildren and a fascinating and interesting way to get your family involved in Bible reading at a young age.

 I intend to include this book in our night time reading ritual because each story is only three to four pages long and you can skip around if you feel a certain story is needed for whatever happened that day.  I am excited to use this book to teach my daughter stories from the Bible that she will treasure and learn from each day.  I have learned much about the Bible from the way this book is presented and hope to discover many more treasures when seeing them through the eyes of a child. 

 I recommend this book to everyone as a way to connect with the people and places in the Bible and, most importantly, to God.   You will definitely see the Bible in a new and refreshing way. 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their Book Review Blogger program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Responses

  1. Sounds like a good book that churches should have on hand for children!

    • Yes, I believe it would be a great one for children.

  2. Excellent review. I am always delighted when resources become available to take things up a notch. Sounds like this book has something for everyone–babes in Christ included.
    I appreciate your thoughts on it!
    Thanks also for your comment on my blog.
    God bless you!

  3. Very interesting! I’m glad I read this so now I can give the book a try.

    On my blog, sometimes I take Bible stories, specifically about women, and try to find the moral or lesson in each. Come check it out at http://www.cip31.wordpress.com 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

