Posted by: Jill Potts Jones | October 13, 2009

My 30 Day Journey Observing God’s Surprises


Yesterday was the final day of my “30 Day Faith Experiment” in which I spent every day intentionally looking for ways God works in the world and in my life.  Some days it wasn’t so easy to see because I was distracted by tasks but most days I was able to see how often God works in my life.

I wasn’t able to journal for the last four or five days of the experiment, but those were the days I noticed God the most.  Day 26 was incredible and I only wish I could have journaled on that day.  I spend a lot of time on Twitter, but from Thursday to Monday I was so busy I was unable to really glance at it; however, one of the first and last items I saw was a prayer for financial blessings and wisdom.  I gave it a cursory read and as I was about to pay my bills I prayed that prayer offered by one of my Twitter friends.  The results were completely amazing.  I re-tweeted that prayer in hopes that someone else would benefit from it.

I was able to leave work early on  Thursday for the rest of the week and basically had a four-day weekend and was determined to use it to catch up on some very important tasks, but first went grocery shopping and enjoyed lunch with a friend.  I spent the rest of the day on  cloud nine as I pondered how very much God loves me.  The fact that He cares and is involved in even the smallest details of my life is incredibly humbling and thrilling at the same time.

Friday was another day to continue my progress with my tasks and, although there were plenty of distractions, I continued to make headway.  I enjoyed lunch with my husband and spent a part of the afternoon helping my daughter get ready for the homecoming dance.   My youngest stayed with her MawMaw Friday and Saturday, so I was able to get far more done than I thought possible.

I enjoyed an hour massage on Saturday morning–a birthday gift from my husband.  Then I spent the afternoon shopping with my teenager and we had such a good time together.  It was the first time in a long time she actually spent time with me without grunting or making faces.  (The teenage years are so hard).

Husband cooked breakfast on Sunday and we enjoyed a great morning of worship.  We went to my parents to celebrate birthdays and came home.  I didn’t get quite finished with everything I wanted to do this weekend, but I got finished with everything that needed to be done.

God has been so good to me.  This 30 day faith experiment was a good reminder that He is and always will be involved in my life.  He is an Awesome God.

Responses

  1. Your website is very clean and the theme colors match very well. I enjoyed reading your “30 day Faith experiment”.


Leave a Reply

Categories

