Posted by: Jill Potts Jones | October 5, 2009

Monday, Monday


There are days when I just really don’t like to come to work and today is one of those days–actually Mondays and Fridays are just plain hard.  I would much prefer to be at home struggling to get things done with an over active three-year-old and a million other things to divide my time.

On Mondays while I’m at work, I’m constantly thinking of all the things I didn’t get done over the weekend and all the things I’d rather be doing and on Fridays I’m busy planning my weekend filling it with all the things I didn’t get done over the past week.  This doesn’t include the housecleaning, laundry, grocery shopping and child and family-related duties.

I know I’m not supposed to, but I’m always comparing myself to those moms who do it all.  Those moms who can work 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., run errands on their lunch hour, cook a full-course sit-down meal for the family, do household tasks before bed and still have time to spend with each child, her spouse and include a daily dose of Bible study.  Not only can they fit a daily schedule into each and every day, they go the extra mile by being scout mom, helping out at school, volunteering at church and in community-related activities.  You know, the ones who do it all so those of us who can’t can sit down and blog about why they would rather be at home.

Somehow I was convinced that if I was a stay-at-home mom, I could do it all.  I could keep the house clean, laundry completed, dinners cooked, homeschool the teenager, oversee the toddler (actually I thought I was going to do the arts and crafts thing with her), volunteer for church and community activities as well as participate in a morning Women’s Bible Study.  I couldn’t have been more wrong.   I had so much I wanted to do and time to do it; however, my toddler had other plans.  First, she started getting up earlier then it was time to potty train–and for those of you who don’t know about potty-training–it’s a full-time job.  My first child was so easy–I just told her no more diapers, it’s panties and potty time and she complied.  Not so with the second.  I practically begged her and then bribed her telling her I’d give her whatever she wanted if she’d just start using the potty.  All she wanted in the whole wide world was a diaper.  Oh, the exasperation!

 Okay, I got off topic.  This morning I could envision myself sitting on the couch with a cup of coffee reading my Bible and spending some quality time with God.  This leisurely study time (say, at about Noon) would be followed by lunch and doing bookkeeping for my husband’s business which is at this current time at least six months behind if not more.  Then this evening would be all about the kids and hubby and watching The Big Bang Theory on television.

Of course, I’m living in a dream world. I must work to support this family and home of which I’ve grown fond.  I’ve tried several times to be a stay-at-home mom and both times were disasters.  Being self-employed in this economy is difficult especially when you are in debt and struggling to make ends meet.  We are counting on God’s continuous blessings to keep us going.  We believe and trust in Him even though we don’t see where He is taking us. 

If you are a stay-at-home mom–more power to you.  If you are a work outside the home mom, I’m right there with you grumbling about work but realizing God has blessed me with a job and I’m going to smile all day long–at least until I get home and see the work piled up for me.  Then, I’ll just continue to smile because God has gifted me with a family who loves me even though they sometimes have a hard time showing it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

