Posted by: Jill Potts Jones | October 3, 2009

Should Christians Celebrate Halloween?


What follows is an shortened and amended portion of an editorial I wrote several years ago as Lifestyles Editor for The Valley Times-News. Every October I’m reminded of how much I hate celebrating a tradition that worships evil and Christians having blindly fell into its trap. After this article appeared, a local radio station polled it’s listeners with the results being most were opposed to celebrating Halloween. I wonder what the results would be today. The article also generated a lot of letters to the editor. I received hate mail and lost friends over this. I am not trying to cause division. I only want to point out that Jesus would not have celebrated Halloween, so maybe we should rethink whether we should or not.

***
It’s that time of year again when ghosts and goblins are out in full force to extract treats from us or bestow us with tricks. Times have changed, but many traditions are still followed with much excitement and enthusiasm. It is the time-honored tradition of Halloween I think should change, particularly for Christians.

Have you noticed we live in a different world than the one we grew up in? I can remember going off with a group of friends (no adult present) to trick-or-treat around the neighborhood. Should Christians observe the tradition of Halloween even if we’ve always done it? The tradition was started by devil worshipers who believed that on October 31, All Hallow’s Eve, the spirits of the dead could come back to life for one night. Christians celebrate November 1 as All Saints Day and have included some of the Halloween traditions into the observance.

My family doesn’t trick-or-treat; however, I do allow my children to dress up in appropriate costumes and attend fall festivals. We leave our house during trick-or-treating hours because we don’t participate.

Can we, as Christians, feel good about celebrating Halloween? That’s a question we must answer individually. Personally, I don’t and I wish it would just go away.

Responses

  1. I find myself hung up on the word, “celebrate.” We kind of like seeing the little neighborhood kids and parents come around trick-or-treating. It gives us a chance to say hi to people in the community we rarely see. At the same time, however, we hate the holiday. So we participate in Halloween by handing out candy, but I do not see us as “celebrating” the holiday by doing that.

    Should Christians celebrate Halloween? I think it depends on how you define celebrate.

  2. This is a pretty controversial topic among Christians, especially those who consider themselves evangelical. The Bible instructs us to abstain from all appearance of evil (1 Thessalonians 5:22) and anyone not against us is for us. (Mark 9:40) I think the celebration of Halloween has to be viewed with a common-sense attitude. Is the “celebration” of Halloween consisting of belief in the raising of spirits, or is it just a bunch of kids dressing up as their favorite character, going door-to-door and collecting candy? If the former is how this holiday is celebrated, then I think it should be avoided. If kids are just having fun for fun’s sake, I don’t have a problem with it. In fact, allowing kids to dress up on on the non-Halloween night only to take them to a fall festival instead of going door-to-door on Halloween really doesn’t seem much different to me. To kids, I think the point is the same: they still get to dress up in costumes and they will still get candy; only the day has changed.

    I’m not a liberal Christian by any stretch of the word. Are kids really going to understand spirits being supposedly raised from the dead? And if they do, then they can certainly understand why Jesus is the only way and Halloween is celebrated by some as a pagan holiday and we don’t believe in that garbage – just dress up & have fun collecting candy.

    Why not give out candy on Halloween with tracts to the kids? That may sow some seeds with not only the kids, but the parents as well.

    Should Christians celebrate other non-Christian holidays as well, or just the ones with supposed ties to the occult centuries ago in a foreign land? It’s just about common sense to me.

  3. I feel very strongly about how wrong it is to take part in halloween activities. My post today is about that very thing at http://123hallelujah.wordpress.com.

    It simply is not a loving way to treat our Savior after all the love and truths about such myths that are shown us in the Bible. Thank you for posting on this.

    Margaret

  4. You went trick-or-treating as a child, but did not grow up to become a pagan priest or an actual witch. It was a fun game you played as a child, and then you grew out of it. Has that really changed?

    If we toss out Halloween because it has pagan roots, what about Easter and Christmas? What do hiding colored eggs and bringing a tree inside have to do with Jesus? Those are ancient traditions, based in pagan ritual, that crossed over when we Christianized those festivals. I’m not saying we do away with those traditions, but we should know where they came from. Read Jeremiah 10:2-4 if need proof. He lived before Christ, so that’s no Christmas tree he’s talking about.

    I’ve written more on this here: http://wp.me/pfpoV-q3

  5. Indeed–we need to put the light of Christ to all of our doings, and something so dark and stinking of Satan should stand out to us. We must not become desensitized!

    Here’s a post I wrote last year that I think adds to the conversation!

  6. Great post.. this is really a great information..This will be useful post.. I will comeback for more..

    Cheers

  7. I think we should ask would Jesus participate in any pagan celebration? Then act accordingly on all non God honoring celebrations. Even our modern commercialized celebration of Christ’ birth is an abomination.


Leave a Reply

Categories

