Posted by: Jill Potts Jones | September 12, 2009

Review of “Be the Surprise” by Terry Esau Impacting the World One Person at a Time


I have to be honest and tell you that I would never have chosen this book to read on my own. I received it to review for NavPress and was immediately impressed with Terry Esau’s faith experiment. I couldn’t put the book down and read a half of this short book in a couple of hours and was so impressed that I ordered his book entitled “Surprise Me”.

Esau believes that we can impact the world one person at a time. He tells stories of how being the surprise has impacted his life and those with whom he has interacted as well as how those people have touched life after life in response to God’s work in their life.

Church is no longer about how we react to God. Church is how we bring God to the lives of others whether they choose to accept Him or not. Our true calling is to spread God’s love to the lives of others regardless of anything else. God values us over everything else and it is time for us, as His children, to show others how much He values them.

I cannot wait to read “Surprise Me” and see how God works in my life to work in the lives of others. I truly desire to “Be the Surprise” and have been more encouraged through this one little book than any other book I have read. No other author has inspired me to reach out to God’s people more than Terry Esau and it has nothing to do with him. It is all about God and not once in the book do I feel like Esau is talking about himself other than demonstrating how God worked through him to help others. This is not a pat on the back for Esau. This is the way he has chosen to live his life. I am grateful that God blessed him so that he could tell others about this faith experiment.

I don’t think it is any accident that I got this book to review. God works in mysterious ways and this book is filled with examples.

Leave a Reply

Categories

