Posted by: Jill Potts Jones | January 10, 2009

Job Hunt


I am so frustrated.  Not only am I job hunting–I’ve already typed this blog once saved and published and it disappeared. 

So as I was saying, I am now looking for a job and it hasn’t been easy.  Now that most businesses want you to fill out your application online you would think it would be easy, but it’s not.  I can remember the days when you either answered an ad by mailing a resume or going to the place of business and filling out an application.  Then all you had to do was wait for a callback.

There is a local internet jobsite that advertises how easy it is to use and how simple it is for employers and employees to find each other, but what they don’t tell you is you have to travel multiple sites before you find that perfect or not-so-perfect-but-it-will-have-to-do job.  The other day I went to this site, filled out all of the fields and copied and pasted my resume  in the little box and searched and found one of those not-so-perfect job opportunities. When I clicked on it to get the details, lo and behold it popped up another job website which requested I fill out all its little fields and copy and paste my resume in its little box only to find out that the employer desired for me to fill out the application on its website.  ARGGHH!

When did something so simple become so complicated?  I guess they want to see how badly you want to learn how to say “do you want fries with that?”  Do you know it takes over an hour to fill out the application for Wal-Mart?  Did you also know that you can upload or cut and paste your resume on a site, but you are still going to have to enter all the employment and education information in the little fields?

So I guess I’ll plod along and keep filling out the forms.  I guess my advice to you when you go to the sites and find a job you like is if you know the name of the company, go to their website first and see if you can apply from there before going all over the internet and entering and re-entering information.  I guess it beats pounding the pavement and brings a whole new meaning to let your fingers do the walking.

If you are looking for a job, good luck.

Leave a Reply

Categories

